This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Finland

Finland is made up of 18 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Finland. Information on all primary administrative regions in Finland.

Please note that unfortunately population data are not available for all regions in Finland.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Finland alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Finland

There are 18 regions in Finland in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Finland
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Uusimaa Uusimaa1.1,585,473Helsinki Helsinki558,457
Pirkanmaa Pirkanmaa2.462,627Tampere Tampere202,687
Southwest Finland Varsinais-Suomi3.470,880Turku Turku175,945
Northern Ostrobothnia Pohjois-Pohjanmaa4.384,900Oulu Oulu128,618
Paijanne Tavastia Päijänne-Tavastland5.199,059Lahti Lahti98,826
Northern Savo Pohjois-Savo6.250,294Kuopio Kuopio89,104
Central Finland Keski-Suomi7.275,320Jyvaeskylae Jyväskylä85,026
Satakunta Satakunta8.232,687Pori Pori76,772
South Karelia Etelä-Karjala9.132,252Lappeenranta Lappeenranta59,276
Ostrobothnia Pohjanmaa10.180,384Vaasa Vaasa57,014
North Karelia Pohjois-Karjala11.166,500Joensuu Joensuu53,388
Haeme Häme12.167,442Haemeenlinna Hämeenlinna47,261
Southern Savonia Southern Savonia13.-Mikkeli Mikkeli46,550
Central Ostrobothnia Keski-Pohjanmaa14.70,106Kokkola Kokkola35,586
Kainuu Kainuu15.84,498Kajaani Kajaani35,375
Lapland Lappi16.182,885Rovaniemi Rovaniemi34,781
Southern Ostrobothnia Etelä-Pohjanmaa17.192,675Seinaejoki Seinäjoki32,149
Kymenlaakso Kymenlaakso18.184,317Kouvola Kouvola31,133