This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Finland

Finland is made up of 18 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Finland. Information on all primary administrative regions in Finland.

Please note that unfortunately population data are not available for all regions in Finland.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Finland alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Finland

There are 18 regions in Finland in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Finland
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Central Finland Keski-Suomi1.275,320Jyvaeskylae Jyväskylä85,026
Central Ostrobothnia Keski-Pohjanmaa2.70,106Kokkola Kokkola35,586
Haeme Häme3.167,442Haemeenlinna Hämeenlinna47,261
Kainuu Kainuu4.84,498Kajaani Kajaani35,375
Kymenlaakso Kymenlaakso5.184,317Kouvola Kouvola31,133
Lapland Lappi6.182,885Rovaniemi Rovaniemi34,781
North Karelia Pohjois-Karjala7.166,500Joensuu Joensuu53,388
Northern Ostrobothnia Pohjois-Pohjanmaa8.384,900Oulu Oulu128,618
Northern Savo Pohjois-Savo9.250,294Kuopio Kuopio89,104
Ostrobothnia Pohjanmaa10.180,384Vaasa Vaasa57,014
Paijanne Tavastia Päijänne-Tavastland11.199,059Lahti Lahti98,826
Pirkanmaa Pirkanmaa12.462,627Tampere Tampere202,687
Satakunta Satakunta13.232,687Pori Pori76,772
South Karelia Etelä-Karjala14.132,252Lappeenranta Lappeenranta59,276
Southern Ostrobothnia Etelä-Pohjanmaa15.192,675Seinaejoki Seinäjoki32,149
Southern Savonia Southern Savonia16.-Mikkeli Mikkeli46,550
Southwest Finland Varsinais-Suomi17.470,880Turku Turku175,945
Uusimaa Uusimaa18.1,585,473Helsinki Helsinki558,457